Studio Settings

Studio settings configure the general behavior of Supernova, including how the interface looks, how new projects behave and more! You'll find the list of settings with the explanation of every option below.

Studio Settings - General

Saving

Autosave interval
When set to >0, Supernova creates a backup save file in the folder where the original is located. If something should happen (e.g., an unexcepted crash), you can use the newer save file instead of your original one. When set to 0, automatic saving is disabled.

Interaction

Double click interval
The maximum amount of time that can pass before double-click is no longer registered. Because normal clicks are registered after this delay passes, decreasing the speed can make Supernova feel snappier compared to other apps. Defaults to original system settings, usually 500ms.

Privacy

Share analytics
When enabled, Supernova collects anonymous usage and performance analytics to help us improve the product. When disabled, no outgoing communication will happen. Note that even when disabled, crashes are still reported so we can fix any problem you might potentially encounter.

Studio Settings - Interface

Component Panels

Show Visual Preview
When enabled, a visual preview of the selected component will be shown in the right panel.

Show Visual Preview
When enabled, code snippets needed to create the selected component will be shown in the right panel.

##Screen Panels
Show Visual Preview
When enabled, a visual preview of the selected screen will be shown in the right panel.

Studio Settings - Visual

Studio

Theme
The selected visual theme of Studio. You can select from 3 modes: Light, Dark, and Obsidian. Read more about the visual modes here.

Layout

Show Layout Visuals Outside Layout Panel
When enabled, layout information for the selected component will always be shown.

Show Nearest Layout Edges
When enabled, lines to the edges nearest to the selected component will be displayed.

##Interactions
Haptic Feedback When Dragging
When enabled, the touchpanel will provide haptic feedback when snapping to edges.

Studio Settings - Code Preview

Visual

*Obsidian Theme**
When Codex is enabled and Studio is using Obsidian theme, the code preview window is styled using the selected option. The code styling and formatting are identical with the other editors that use them (VSCode, Atom).

Dark Theme
When Codex is enabled and Studio is using the Dark theme, the code preview window is styled using the selected option. The code styling and formatting are identical with the other editors that use them (VSCode, Atom).

Light Theme
When Codex is enabled and Studio is using the Light theme, the code preview window is styled using the selected option. The code styling and formatting are identical with the other editors that use them (VSCode, Atom).

Font Size
The font size of the code shown in the Codex preview window.

Automatic Scrolling

Scroll Speed
When a component is selected with the scroll to selection option, the content will scroll to the first occurrence of the code needed to implement that component. A higher value means slower scrolling and vice-versa.

Scroll Offset
When a component is selected with the scroll to selection option, the content will scroll to the first occurrence of the code needed to implement that component. This is offset by a specific number of rows configured by this property, in order to also see surrounding code context. The offset is also used when using top / down arrows to scroll through different code blocks.

Data Refresh

Refresh Speed
When CodeX is enabled and something changes within the component structure, the code will be regenerated with the specified delay. When Real Time option is set, the code is kept in sync in real-time.

Studio Settings - New Projects

Import

Show Import Preview
When enabled, the preview window is shown before each import - the preview window allows you to pick which screens you want to import and set additional configuration before the project is created. When disabled, the preview window will not be shown and all artboards/screens will be imported using the default configuration.

📘

Import Preview in refresh mode

Show Import Preview is not applicable during refresh because the preview window must always be shown so you can select which screen(s) you’d like to merge.

Studio Settings - Security

Account Access

Use Global Account
When enabled, the instance of Supernova will be available to all users on your machine and the login information will be shared through a secure shared keychain. This option is generally useful when there is a lot of people rotating on a single computer, for example in classrooms with central account management.


What’s Next